Day 25. Deluge.

This afternoon the kids were shipped off to the grandparents’ place so my husband and I could enjoy a date night. Alas, before date night could start, a wild and unexpected storm hit our area. We bailed water out of our sump for three hours so that the basement wouldn’t flood. Our pump just couldn’t keep up. So long, daily nature walk (I escaped to the garden instead before darkness fell). So long, date night (we ordered pizza, which came an hour late). I was reminded, though, that my husband and I make one hell of a good team – as a couple, as parents, as emergency basement flood preventers.

Leave a Reply

