More decisions.

For the same price, I could either buy a proper macro camera lens to make quality close-up shots, or my family could eat for a few weeks. I considered. In my twenties I’d lived on Mr. Noodles for extended periods of time without getting scurvy. But I supposed starving the family so I could magnify a flower probably wasn’t a responsible, motherly thing to do.

Instead I bought some cheap screw-on filters that allow me to get up close to things with my regular lens. The garden was sprinkled with frost this morning – it looked so dainty and perfect on the few blooms stubbornly hanging on to life. While real macro authorities would probably have a thing or two to say about the image quality, I still like how they turned out.

And my family likes that we don’t have to eat Mr. Noodles for dinner.

Leave a Reply

