Easy as…

november-29-3-of-3november-29-2-of-3november-29-1-of-3

I didn’t wander with my camera today. My creative efforts, instead, were directed at fashioning a photo light box out of a sheet of white muslin, two desk lamps, white poster board, and a cardboard box.

The idea is to create a stage with soft, even light, without harsh shadows, for small items to be photographed clearly.

I measured and cut and taped. Once the box was assembled, I considered my first test subject. I tried a pompom, a marble, a feather (when you have kids, these items mysteriously appear in your home along with other odd things like bulk packs of fluorescent popsicle sticks and rainbow tubes of glitter glue).

I popped online to procrastinate before putting away the light box setup, and came across the WordPress Discover Challenge: One, Two, Three!. By this time it was 10:30 p.m. and my brain was beginning to short circuit, so I used my new contraption to photograph – quite literally and with no deeper meaning whatsoever – one, two, three beads.

Well, I’ve never claimed to produce fine art. But at least my homemade light box works.

One thought on “Easy as…

  1. Pingback: Ruffled. | Do What You Wish

Leave a Reply

